Let's talk tailgate spots...again

Discuss anything and everything relating to Bobcat Football here.

Moderators: rtb, kmax, SonomaCat

CatBlitz
Golden Bobcat

Let's talk tailgate spots...again

Post by CatBlitz » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:36 pm

9 years ago when I was a freshman, I bought a tailgate spot. I believe I paid $60/$75 for that luxury. Last season MSU basically doubled the price to $200 after a few small increases over the years (which is to be expected). That $200 was going towards the costs of paving the lots, which I didn't mind paying. This season that $200 stayed because, why not, people are already paying it right? Might as well just keep it there. :roll: I was pretty vocal about that but decided whatever, it's not THAT much I guess. I don't mind holding that and using it as necessary for friends, etc... just to ensure I have a spot.

Anywho, fast forward to last week, I get a thing in the mail from MSU telling me that beginning next season everyone would be required to join the Bobcat Club in addition to the $200 for the spot. So that's $500 for a tailgate spot. That with the ever increasing prices of season tickets, I have to make a sacrifice. No more tailgate spot for us (unless I somehow get a significantly better job by then).
I suppose the demand is high enough for spots, and good for MSU, but it makes it difficult for some of us. Feels like they're weeding out the wrong people.

But just my opinion. Flame away if you want but this is getting a bit ridiculous for my taste. Apologies in advance if I'm out of my element.

Don't let this distract you from the fact that the griz blew a 22-0 lead.

LongTimeCatFan
Golden Bobcat

Re: Let's talk tailgate spots...again

Post by LongTimeCatFan » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:44 pm

I get what you're saying. UM made the decision to price out the diehards and cater to the deep pocket socialites. They get the bankroll, but it ain't WaGriz like it used to be. It's not loud anymore.

kcatz
1st Team All-BobcatNation